Watson & Whaley “Lay Down The Law” On a Wild Saturday Night

Watson & Whaley “Lay Down The Law” On a Wild Saturday Night


Watson & Whaley “Lay Down The Law” On a Wild Saturday Night


​It was the third time in 7 days that drivers took to the surface at the Delaware International Speedway, and it was certainly the wildest night of them all. The night should have been sponsored by “Murphy’s Law” as if it could go wrong it did, but track officials and racers teamed together to make sure the show would go on as planned. Mother Nature threw out the first curveball of the night when she curtailed all forms of wind that had kept the track crews scrambling all day to keep extra moisture in the surface, and the wacky night would not end there. After nearly an hour delay while everyone frantically tried to work the moisture into the surface, racers were through part of their heat races when disaster struck again and a faulty breaker tripped the turns one and two lights. Thankfully track crews were able to fix the breaker in a timely manner, and racers were back to rim riding in no time.


​Once life seemed to return to normal it was the S.R. Pete & Son’s Super Late Models that took to the track with Amanda Whaley leading the field to the green. Whaley, the current points leader in the division, has had a season full of ups and downs herself, and knew she would have to be up on the wheel as the heavy track would mean flat foot racing around the half-mile. Immediately Whaley had pressure as the man chasing her in points, Donald Lingo Jr, quickly began to put pressure on Whaley for the lead position. Whaley, notorious for running the high line, had tucked her Rocket XR1 chassis down to the bottom groove while Lingo worked his way around the high line. Cautions were few and far between in the Super Late Model Feature, and although Lingo lead the field with the fastest lap time of the event it was Whaley’s night once again as she went on to collect another win on the season.


Feature Finish – 1. Amanda Whaley 2. Donald Lingo Jr. 3. Nick Davis 4. Kevin Scott Jr. 5. Herb Tunis 6. David Dill Jr 7. Kellie Lewis 8. Bob Geiger


DNF – Brent Robinson, Mark Pettyjohn



​After picking up the the number 1 pill in the redraw, points leader Jordan Watson, started on the pole and would continue to show why he is one of the most prolific modified drivers in the northeast. Watson, who’s car was hardly recognizable after track run in, didn’t allow for a little dirt to slow him down in the feature event. When the green dropped, Watson quickly put the hammer down on the number 18 and pulled away while Howard O’Neal, Kevin Sockriter, Matt Hawkins, and Robert Dutton began to battle behind him. Sockriter and O’Neal quickly became the stars of the show as the two battled high and low and went toe to toe around the speedway lap after lap. The caution would fly early as Bryan Brobst was facing the wrong direction in turn four, erasing any lead Watson had built up. Again when the green flag flew it was Watson with another strong restart, quickly building his lead the field fought for their positions and tried to keep the Bicknell chassis of the Milford, Delaware driver in their sights. At the halfway sign, Carson Wright had worked his way to third from his seventh place starting position, and was looking to be a potential strong candidate to run down Watson if he could get by the strong running machine of Howard O’Neal. However, Watson had checked out, the field stayed under the green flag, and the 18 machine was back in Victory Lane for his third win of the season.


Feature Finish – 1. Jordan Watson 2. Howard O’Neal 3. Carson Wright 4. Matt Hawkins 5. Kevin Sockriter 6. Joseph Watson 7. HJ Bunting 8. Brandon Watkins 9. Shawn Ward 10. Scott VanGorder 11. David Shirk 12. Ryan Riddle 13. Dave Dissinger

DNF – Robert Dutton, Bryan Brobst

DNS – Jordn Justice


Kings are the “Hill’s” on Saturday Night in Crate Divisions



The RUSH Crate Late Models were the first feature event for the weekly divisions, and it was all Matt Hill from the drop of the green. Hill would start on the pole after taking home the first place redraw pill, and it would be nothing but “horns up” for the driver out of Georgetown, Delaware from there on. Wednesday night’s winner Sparky White and former champion Tyler Reed could only try their best to battle it out for second, as it was hill taking the win over White in second place by 8.414 seconds, nearly half a track.


Feature Finish – 1. Matt Hill 2. Sparky White 3. Tyler Reed 4. Derek Magee 5. Joe Warren 6. Trevor Collins 7. Billy Thompson 8. Ben Scott 9. Brian Coe Jr 10. Donnie Tepper

DNF – Geoff Carey



The AC Delco Modified’s finished off the wild and wacky night at the races as the Modified Lite’s had the week off. Danny Smack would start P1 on the night, and showed to have some real speed in his heat race, and picked up where he left off in the feature. Smack would not go unchallenged as he faced intense pressure from James Hill, Jeff Brown, Adam White, and Mike White from the word go. Smack would hold on for the first third of the race, until James Hill was able to find the fast line to work his way around Smack. Once around Smack it was smooth sailing for the former & defending Modified Lite champion as he went on to capture his first career AC Delco PSC Modified feature event.


Feature Finish- 1. James Hill 2. Michael White 3. Scott Hitchens 4. Jeff Brown 5. Danny Smack 6. Matt Smith 7. Greg Humlhanz 8. Tom Moore Jr 9. Trent Willey 10. Jordan Long 11. John Stevenson 12. Sean Metz 13. George Richardson

DNF – Adam White, Gary Langenstein



The Little Lincoln’s were on hand for their second time of the week, and it was the fearsome Kirk Lawson and Mel Joseph Jr out front and putting on the show in the 12 lap feature event. Lawson and Joseph would battle it out side by side for many, but in the end it was a familiar face in a familiar place with Joseph Jr parking the infamous number 47 in victory lane.


Feature Finish – 1. Mel Joseph Jr. 2. Matt White 3. Sean Smith 4. Kirk Lawson 5. Bunky White 6. TJ Henry 7. Wayne Seaton 8. Jordan Herbert 9. Bryan Piercy

DNF – Todd Sammons, Wesley Smack, Ryan Walsen