Delmar, Delaware- The anticipation is over, as multi-time Big Block Modified Champion, HJ Bunting scored his first win of the season at Delaware International Speedway. Bunting, who is traditionally red-hot in the summer months has had a challenging season putting up the statistics that he is accustomed to. This Saturday night, Bunting unloaded fast, won his heat race, and redrew the second position for the feature event, putting himself in prime position for a stellar performance. 

From the drop of the green, Jordan Watson, HJ Bunting, and Joseph Watson swarmed polesitter, Shawn Ward, to take the top position. Jordan Watson would be the first driver to get to the number one spot by lap two, with Bunting hot on his heels. Joseph Watson would succumb to mechanical failure a few short laps later. 

Jordan Watson and Bunting would set the pace despite a variety of cautions that would keep the field regrouped.

On lap 17, a single file restart would allow for Bunting to make his most serious challenge on race leader, Watson, diving to the bottom of turns one and two and again in turns three and four. Watson would maintain the lead, ultimately slowing on the backstretch on the next circuit with a broken rear, handing over the lead to Bunting. 

Bunting would go unchallenged, as Bridgeport Speedway regulars, Matt Stangle and Richie Pratt, Jr., put pressure on Shawn Ward for the second position. In the end, Stangle outran Ward to the checkered flag, taking the second position. Ward, Pratt, and Matt Hawkins would complete the top five. 

Kevin Scott, Jr. held off the dominating duo of Amanda Whaley and Donald Lingo, Jr. to capture his first S.R. Pete and Sons Super Late Model feature event of the season. Scott held off the strong charges of Lingo, Whaley, and Herb Tunis.

After swapping positions throughout the event, Lingo ultimately took the second position from Whaley, with Mark Pettyjohn and Nick Davis rounding out the top five. 

Derek Magee took advantage of his front starting position becoming another first-time 2019 winner of the night in the RUSH Late Model division. Magee would drive a consistent race and not faulter with the late race challenges of Sparky White. Jason Dean, Trevor Collins, and Matt Hill completed the top five. 

Scott Hitchens continued his dominating season in the AC Delco PSC Crate Modified division, taking the lead on lap one and having no real threats to capture the victory. James Hill, who advanced from the Modified Lite division this season finished second. Father and son, Adam and Michael White, and Greg Humlhanz concluded the top five. 

Jason Musser won the 15-lap Modified Lite feature event. 

The Delaware Super Trucks saw a familiar face with David Smith taking the victory. The Delmarva Chargers event was won by Robert Pac.  

Hurlock Auto and Speed Big Block Modified Feature Finish (25 laps): HJ BUNTING, Matt Stangle, Shawn Ward, Richie Pratt, Jr., Matt Hawkins, Howard O’Neal, Robbie Emory, Ryan Riddle, Kevin Sockriter, Kevin Gardner, David Shirk, Carson Wright, Roger Manning, Neal Williams, Jordan Watson, Scott VanGorder, Robert Dutton, Joseph Watson, Jordn Justice, DNS: Brandon Watkins 

S.R. Pete and Sons Super Late Model Feature Finish (20 laps): KEVIN SCOTT, JR., Donald Lingo, Jr., Amanda Whaley, Mark Pettyjohn, Nick Davis, Paul Cursey, Rob Schirmer, Kellie Lewis, Matt Murphy, Bob Geiger, David Dill, Herb Tunis

RUSH Late Model Feature Finish (15 laps): DEREK MAGEE, Sparky White, Jason Dean, Trevor Collins, Matt Hill, Tyler Reed, Geoff Carey, Joe Warren, Billy Thompson, Richard Harden, Ben Scott, Mike Wharton, DNS: Zac Weller 

AC Delco PSC Crate Modified Feature Finish (15 laps): SCOTT HITCHENS, James Hill, Adam White, Michael White, Greg Humlhanz, Trent Willey, Dwayne Crockett, Sean Metz, David Jenkins, Jeff Marker, Justin Riley, Gary Langenstein, Matt Smith, Colby Steele, Danny Smack, George Richardson

Modified Lites (15 laps): JASON MUSSER, Tim White, Jerry Barker, Brandon Sturgis, Curt Miles, Jr., Ray Gulliver, Jake Nelson, Curt Miles, Sr., Roscoe Clough, Kenny Ayres, Caleb Sturgis, Wesley Smack, Kyle Hathaway, Brian Gladden, Donnie Spicer

Delaware Super Trucks: DAVID SMITH, Robert Smith, Jerry Hill, Dale Elliott, Curt Miles, Sr., Thomas Jackson, Curt Miles, Jr., Michelle Jackson, Dick Beauchamp, Danny DiGrazio, Bill Dean, Ryan Efford, DQ: Geoff Carey

Delmarva Chargers Finish: ROBERT PAC, Chris Martinez, Randy Merritt, Chris Carroll, Tommy Lecates, Joey Waters, John Bailey, Brandon Riefler, Greg Nailor, Ashley Merritt